293. What am I?

We came across this guy in the mountains and didn’t have a clue what he was, rabbit ears on a black squirrel….hmmmmm……….the boys conjured up some weird mating habits that you probably don’t want me to go in to!  LOL  This definitely isn’t the best pic I have ever taken, but was thrilled to capture him!

whatamILater in the weekend we saw this sign and the lights went off!  He wasn’t some weird science project after all!  🙂   The owner of the cabins where we stayed said this squirrel usually stays in hiding so we were lucky to spot him!

whatamI2

~ by Tammy on October 20, 2009.

16 Responses to “293. What am I?”

  1. It’s crazy what nature gets up to sometimes.

    There are a few black squirrels around here that are so black the first time I caught one I could have sworn it was a cat.

  2. Hi Tammy,
    Great capture!! I think he’s cute! There are black squirrels about 30 miles from us, but they don’t have those ears. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  3. you have something to pick with me =)

  4. Punk has wormed it’s way into all spheres of like, great photo and story.

  5. Never seen this one before! What a funny looking fella. Lucky you got a photo!

  6. I’ve never seen such an unusual squirrel. Great find! The Mr. Spock of squirrels.

  7. Don’t you just love his ears??

  8. Fun shot and a nice capture- it looks like that fight promoter Don King…

  9. Cute little dude! I think it’s a great closeup.

  10. Great capture! He sure looks rather devilish, doesn’t he?

  11. Great capture, looks like a great trip too 🙂 before the snow sets in for good.

  12. Gorgeous pictures. Makes me want to go back to Estes Park.

  13. How fun! He’s got such spirit. I looked at this photo and thought “what is Ron going to say about this one?” LOL

  14. Wow- that is a crazy looking squirrel- reminds me of the gremlins… That’s great that you figured out what he was.

  15. Hmmm. We have black squirrels here but I guess I was misinformed because I was told they were unique to Ontario. They kind of creep me out but your version is rather disarmingly cute with those ears!

  16. Tammy there is an urban rumor going around that rats and squirrels are mating and creating SCRATS….glad you didn’t find one of those! LOL This little guy is cute!

Leave a Reply

 
