202. Famous Authors

This may be a stretch, but everytime I see a raven (which is not often) I think of the famous author Edgar Allen Poe!

“Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered weak and weary,
Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore,
While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping,
As of some one gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door.
`’Tis some visitor,’ I muttered, `tapping at my chamber door –
Only this, and nothing more.’…”

Scarey, I can still remember the words from school!  Funny what the mind remembers!

Famous-AuthorsWe never see ravens in our neck of the cornfields, but they were everywhere in the Grand Canyon!

~ by Tammy on July 22, 2009.

11 Responses to “202. Famous Authors”

  1. Very creative photo for the theme! Don’t they look graceful, soaring on the thermals created by the heated air down in the canyon?

  2. I just love the “FACT” that someone in the U.S. of A. has determined that they can count up to 11, I just love that Crows can kill Canetoads without actually dying themselves. Clever critters, and so shiny black – Good theme stretch, your learning.

  3. Beautiful shot of this stately bird. I love how you’ve captured the sun glinting off its feathers.

  4. Good call on the theme, Tammy! And you’ve caught such an elegant photo of the creature.

  5. I don’t believe that I have ever seen a raven in person. Great picture with lots of details.

  6. Nice take on the theme and fabulous shot

  7. I am so jealous. I have tried to get a good photo of a raven for two years. They aren’t around here, so I have to wait till we go West. Really great photo.

  8. Hi Tammy,
    Hope you had a great trip! The photo is awesome. We don’t Raven’s here, just black birds. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  9. Stretch is a good thing. Keeps the imagination alive. What a great shot. I have also never seen one in person. This photo is just as good as the real thing. Great detail.

  10. Quote the Raven Nevermore… Great Shot. We have Ravens in NC, but more Crows than Ravens. Crows are noisy and nasty to the other birds.

    PS. Papillion made number 3 best city to live in in Money Magazine.

  11. Beware Tammy – I highly suspect this was one of Ron’s minions spying on you – it has that look!

Leave a Reply

 
