106. On the Road

While traveling to our Easter destination I snapped this picture of the Great Platte River Road Archway Monument. The Archway Monument is an interactive adventure that pays tribute to the pioneers who passed through central Nebraska on their way West.  It was built in 2000 and is becoming a popular tourist stop here in Nebraska.  Since I took this from a moving car, it is not the best of images, I used the topaz adjust spicify filter to help the image a bit and then used an OnOne frame.  For more information on the monument go to:  http://www.roadsideamerica.com/story/9790

ontheroad1

ontheroad

~ by Tammy on April 14, 2009.

19 Responses to “106. On the Road”

  1. Thanks for the history.

  2. An interesting monument and I think you did a great job with the photo. Taking photos from a moving car isn´t easy!
    Thanks for your comments! You make me very happy!

  3. Glad to hear it’s doing better business. Last I heard the thing was doing terrible and seemed like a bad investment.

  4. Nice shot from vehicle – those drivers just don’t like to stop in the middle of traffic, do they? (haha) Another place I have to visit….

  5. Nice shots, Tammy. I like your processing. This is the sort of place Mr. Lorri would want to stop and visit. He loves the roadside tourist spots.

  6. This is a great picture, since it was taking from a moving vehicle, it ‘s very fitting for the theme. Great processing. Looks like it should be a postcard.

  7. Very colorful monument and interesting story. The postprocessing is perfect for this.

  8. Hey–we’ve seen that! We live in Connecticut, but we’ve camped out west the past three summers. On one of the trips, we passed under it. We didn’t know what it was, and we wished we could have stopped to investigate, but we just have time. I just showed my husband. Both of us are excited to find out what it is!

  9. Interesting! I love roadside attractions. Your processing is perfect, looks like a postcard.

  10. Kearney! Home of good donuts and cheap gas! I have been back and forth on I-80 across Nebraska (dang that is a Loooooooong state) traveling to and from Colorado dozens of times. When we finally hit this arch, I feel like we are making progress! Hope you weren’t behind the wheel when you snapped this!

  11. I really like the top image. There is something about it, not sure what, but i appeals to me. Maybe it is the anticipation of getting somewhere interesting…

  12. HI Chesney,
    Great Shot! Love the colors of this! Thanks for the history of your monument. Thanks for stopping by my place. Have a great day!!

    Sherrie

  13. I love your first shot here! Lovley colors and interesting story of the monument! 🙂

  14. Thanks for such an interesting story! The colors are great! Although not the same colors, the structure reminds me of a rainbow! Very cool!

  15. Great job, Tammy. I love the colors in both pictures.

  16. Great image for the theme. Have you ever stopped to visit?

  17. I like the angle with the cars in the view. I hope you weren’t driving – that would set a bad example for the boys if you had one hand on the wheel and one hand on the camera, all the while looking through the viewfinder.

  18. These are both nice shots (amazing that it was taken from a moving car!). I love learning about all the amazing places around the world.

  19. very cool effects they look like they belong on postcards and with your detailed description I want to go!!

Leave a Reply

 
