37. Watch

When taking a rest at the zoo I sat on a bench in the gorilla house and watched this little girl.  She just sat there for what seemed an eternity and watched this gorilla, but what was so cute was that the gorilla just stared back at her.  It was almost like they were communicating.  This isn’t the best picture, but I really liked it!

watch

~ by Tammy on February 5, 2009.

23 Responses to “37. Watch”

  1. You can really see how mesmerized she is by the large furry critter on the other side of the glass. Great illustration for the theme.

  2. I think this is a very sweet picture. I’ll bet her parents would have loved a copy of it! Great job!

  3. She is probably thinking “Come out and Play” and he is mirroring her thoughts. Kindred spirits. Wish I had been there to take the shot, I most probably would have forgot the camera watching the subjects I should have been photographing.

  4. She looks entranced, wonderful take on the theme.

  5. The gorilla looks like he has on a pink coat too through the reflection of her jacket. It makes him look bluer and not so real!

  6. definite understanding going on there…what a fabulous moment to peek in on!

  7. This is a sweet shot. She’s so engrossed! Good catch.

  8. This is a great picture – you have captured such a special moment. I wonder what they were communing?

  9. I love the new ape house. Sadly when we were there the gorillas were all off on there own but the orangutangs were in full people gawking stage.

  10. That shot really captures the moment! It really piques the imagination.

  11. I think it’s a great picture. I like it.
    Monica

  12. What a delightful picture! You can almost sense the connection between the two of them.

  13. I like this shot thought Tammy, your focus appears more on the little girl, which may even tell the story better. Possibly a different Fstop might have helped get more of the ape in detail but…. Here is what I have learned….yes the hard way. Every time I take a limited number of shots of a particular thing, thinking one of them was really good, it more than often than not what wasn’t exactly what I wanted. Then I can’t go back sometimes and get it again. The other extreme is taking 50 shots of something when the first one was good. I love taking pictures so I take too many of everything no matter what. I think sometimes documenting how you felt and what you saw and thought makes the picture fun and interesting, even if its not what you may have envisioned in the beginning.

  14. Isn’t it so wonderful that she could just look at it, not tap the glass or make faces, or anything. And the gorilla returned the favor. It my not be technically be the best shot, but it is very, very interesting and I like it too!

  15. What a captivating image! Good for you for catching it…

  16. This is a very interesting shot that makes you curious about the thoughts of the gorilla and of the little girl.

  17. Whenever I’m at the zoo, that’s the first place I go to. I could stay & watch them all day, they’re so beautiful! What a fun shot that is Tammy!

  18. They are brushing up on their communication skills!! It’s kind of endearing.

  19. This photo is just great!

  20. Such an evocative photo, Tammy! It’s one I looked at and then really stopped to see. It tells enough of a story to absolutely pull me in and then forces me to think about what else is going on.

  21. What a wonderful picture and interpretation of the theme. The girl looks completely absorbed out of the gorilla. I’m sure they were in som kind of contact. 🙂

  22. I don’t know how I missed this wonderful shot first time around. It’s so warm! Glad ou pegged it as one of your faves, so I could enjoy it. 🙂

  23. Incredible photo!

Leave a Reply

 
